Four UCSB Professors Named AIMBE Fellows for 2021

Each is recognized for interdisciplinary achievements that have significantly contributed to health and well-being.

February 17, 2021

Three professors from the UC Santa Barbara College of Engineering and one from the Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB) have been named Fellows of the prestigious American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE), recognizing their interdisciplinary achievements. Mechanical engineers Linda Petzold, Sumita Pennathur, and Megan Valentine, and MCDB professor Dennis Clegg join some two thousand other AIMBE fellows, who are nominated by their peers and represent the top two percent of the medical and biological engineering community, having made transformational contributions to the medical and biological engineering (MBE) community in academia, industry, government, and education.

“We are extremely proud to have four UC Santa Barbara faculty members selected as AIMBE Fellows for 2021,” said Rod Alferness, dean of the UCSB College of Engineering. “Being named an AIMBE Fellow is a particularly notable achievement, first, because it is highly competitive and second, and perhaps more importantly, because it recognizes achievements at the intersection of science and engineering, which may have life-changing impacts. We offer our most sincere congratulations to Linda Petzold, Sumita Pennathur, Megan Valentine, and Dennis Clegg on this significant achievement.”